Writer’s Q&A

Mollie over at Mollie’s Musings is an awesome friend I’ve made on Twitter and fellow writer who tagged me in this fun Q&A over on her blog a while ago, which I have finally gotten around to answering! Everyone I know has already been tagged, so I’m just going to give a shout out to Mollie (thanks for tagging me!) and get right to the questions!

When did you first start writing? Was being a writer something you always aspired to? 

I distinctly recall writing my first storybook at age 4. I illustrated it on computer paper and my mom hole-punched it and tied it together with red ribbon. I didn’t know that writing was something I truly loved and was passionate about until age 16, when an English assignment at the end of the year called for 5 pages and I wound up writing over 20.

What genre do you write?

I don’t consider myself to be tied down to any genre, and have ideas that range from dystopian to sci-fi to contemporary romance. I do have a certain style and interest in supernatural aspects integrated into reality; I’d say that I’m a whatever-idea-comes-to-mind writer, but that I have a favor for using paranormal or supernatural elements in allegorical contexts.

Can you tell us a little about your current work in progress? When did you start working on this project?

Oh boy. Within is the current beast I’m trying to tame. I got the idea for the book a little bit before July 10, 2014. Yep, I know that for sure because of this:

withinfbfirstpost

Look at that adorable first cover. I’d probably still be using it too if it weren’t for the fact I don’t own the photo.

What was your first piece that you can remember writing? What was it about?

See question number one.

What’s the best part about writing?

Getting to explore all these hidden parts of yourself that you didn’t know existed, and fitting together these massive puzzles that exist only in your head.

What’s the worst part about writing?

Self-doubt and procrastination, especially when you’re really passionate about a project, because for me the two of those increase tenfold the more I care about whatever I’m working on.

What’s the name of your favorite character and why?

I don’t know if this is in reference to my own work or someone else’s, but I’ll take it as my own since it’s a writer’s Q&A, and if we were answering this about book characters, the answer would be way too long.

I’d say my favorite character is a triple tie between Hook and Luna, the protagonists of Within, and Ellie, the main character of my last book Subsidence, which I finished in 2013 and am currently editing.

How much time a day/week do you get to write? When is the best time for you to write (morning or night)?

I try to write every day, “try” being the keyword. It was a lot easier to get drafts done when I was still in high school or had just graduated, because my job wasn’t as demanding and responsibilities were not as pressing. However, the main thing about writing success is you have to make it a priority, so I’ve been taking the initiative to write something everyday, even if it’s only 500 words.

I’m definitely a night writer.

Did you go to college for writing?

No, I didn’t. I started off studying Communications and now I’m studying web design. However, I am taking a class in English grammar and composition, which I think will help me with my freelance writing job as well as my noveling.

What bothers you more: spelling errors, punctuation errors, or errors for grammar?

This question was deliberately phrased and typed to illustrated the mentioned errors and I couldn’t stand it so I had to correct it. That  answers the question.

What is the best writing advice that anyone has given you?

I don’t have a best piece of advice, but I do remember one author who I interviewed in high school saying,  “I get so many ideas every day. I just learned the difference between ‘That’s a book I want to read” and ‘That’s a book I want to write’.”

What advice would you give to another writer?

Write every day. It doesn’t sound realistic, and you’ll probably hate it sometimes, but do it. Put on iTunes and just write something for 10 minutes straight, ideally related to your current project. But if it isn’t, that’s okay too. After 10 minutes, you’ll probably want to keep going and after a bit, the urge to write daily will start to emerge.

Actually, that branches off into another piece of advice and that is make sure you have a killer writing soundtrack with diverse music that inspires you. It doesn’t matter how; lyrics, composition, whatever. Just listen to what speaks to you and the undiscovered ghosts in your head.

What are you favorite writing sites or blogs that you turn to for help, tips or encouragement?

I am still new to the online writing community, but so far one of my favorite sites I’ve seen is Writerology, since it combines writing with another one of my major interests, psychology. Creating deep characters becomes a lot easier when you learn how to get into your own head.

Besides writing, what else do you enjoy doing? What are you hobbies?

I love listening to music and reading, but I feel like everyone says that. I also really enjoy photography, looking at art, planning travel adventures and gaming. I actually just started a gaming blog today that you can check out here.

What’s the best book you’ve read this year?

It’s five days into 2016 and I’ve only read one book so far which is Both of Me by Johnathan Friesen.

Both of Me by Johnathan Friesen

What’s the best movie you’ve seen this year?

I have only watched one movie in 2016 so far as well, which was Safelight directed by Tony Aloupis and starring Evan Peters and Juno Temple. Pretty good!

What is your favorite book or series of all time?

I’ll give three. Alice’s Adventures in WonderlandDivergent and Warm Bodies.

Who is your favorite author? 

Isaac Marion (Warm Bodies, The New Hunger) or Iain S. Thomas (pleasefindthis, author of I Wrote This For You and Intentional Dissonance).

What are your plans for the rest of the year in terms of your writing?

2016 just began, so I have three major goals.

Finish Within. Really finish it. Stop coming up with new approaches and mindsets and just write the damn book all the way through already. I’m over 7k in now, so that looks promising.

Finish the first draft of the contemporary romance idea I have, inspired by Chris Evans’s character in Puncture and the song “It’s Not Over” by Panama.

Finish formatting Subsidence (because I have a coupon for a free proof copy and that deadline is January 31, so this will probably done before the others.) And probably talk about it on here, because it’s a pretty good book, if I do say so myself.

Where else can we find you online?

Twitter and Tumblr!

4 Replies to “Writer’s Q&A”

Leave a Reply

