An Absence Apology (I Need to Procrastinate Better)

I haven’t blogged in a while, and I have some excuses, but I mostly just want to apologize. I haven’t been managing my time as well as I’d like to, and now that I’ve been honest with myself about it, I’m ready to take some steps toward diminishing my procrastination (or at least making it more productive.) 

Is “productive procrastination” even possible? According to this article by the New York Times, yes, it is. Dr. John Perry, a Stanford University professor, coined the term “structured procrastination” after realizing that when he procrastinated, he wasn’t doing nothing. He sharpened pencils, played ping-pong, and other things. He discovered that procrastinators weren’t really lazy, they were just misplacing their attention. “Procrastinations,” he said, “seldom do absolutely nothing.”

So he wrote a book called The Art of Procrastination. In it, he proposes the idea of beating procrastination by making even more commitments but being more selective in what we choose to do. He recommends creating a to-do list that has important sounding (but not really) tasks with deadlines (that don’t really matter) at the top, followed by smaller tasks that actually matter. It sounds silly, but the idea is that while you seek to procrastinate the big tasks, you wind up actually achieving what you need to.

I don’t know if that list would work for me, but I do know that I need to start being more productive in my life. Making plans, having ideas, and coming up with plans isn’t my problem. My issue is actually seeing things through. I think it’s a result of an overactive creative brain and a bit of laziness. I love the concept of things, but the act of doing either bores me or intimidates me, so I just focus on something else.

The plus side to all of this is that I usually have a ton of ideas. I have seven novel ideas that I want to complete within the next two years since I’ve already committed myself to write five in 2017. That act in itself was made to encourage me to stop overthinking and just write.

I don’t want to be a person who has so many ideas but never executes them. I don’t want the creative streak I’ve been blessed with to go to waste. 

I’ve actually gotten a lot of things done, like starting a gaming channel on YouTube. it’s something I always wanted to try but was a bit afraid to do. But I did it. It’s been fun and through it, I’ve realized that my love for photography and design spans into video editing and production as well. I may only be telling stories with The Sims right now, but it’s introduced me to new interests and aspects of my personality that I like. So I guess that’s an example of productive procrastination, huh?

I don’t want to ramble. One major reason I don’t update my blog as often as I would like (which is once a week) is that I worry about making my posts “good enough.” I want to curate links and provide you guys with as much valuable information and takeaway as possible, but that takes a lot of planning, and half the time, I wind up putting off my own noveling just to draft a post that never gets done.

I can’t give you great writing advice if I don’t follow it myself.

I need to prioritize more and let go of expectations. I can’t give you great writing advice if I don’t follow it myself. I’m going to make a schedule and stick to it. I know it won’t be easy at first, but I bet it will be worth it. So I’m sorry I’ve been gone, but I am coming back. Just be patient with me. 🙂

I have some posts in the works. Finding time to write when you have a busy schedule. Productively procrastinating as a writer. Embracing your genre as an author. Those are just a few, and I hope you’ll stick around to read them!

Thank you so much for your support and for reading my blog. I hope my words so far have helped you. If there’s anything specific you’d like advice on in the future, please leave a comment, tweet me or shoot me an email at littlesiberiablog@gmail.com!

Have an awesome week, and I will see you soon!

2 Replies to “An Absence Apology (I Need to Procrastinate Better)”

Leave a Reply

